More in Social Networking
Popular messaging platform WhatsApp is well known for continuously upgrading its features. However, the latest rumours doing rounds is that it is reportedly working on bringing voice and video calls on WhatsApp groups. The new function is expected to be rolled out at some point in the next year.
This new feature will work a bit like a conference calling, allowing people from around the world to chat at the same time for free so long as long as they’ve got a web connection.
WhatsApp currently allows users to make voice and video calls to their individual contacts, but the options only appear inside one-on-one conversations.
The feature was discovered by WABetaInfo a website which specializes in rooting through the code of beta test versions of WhatsApp software to work out what’s coming in future updates.
The website wrote: “Unfortunately there is actually nothing that we can show you as abovementioned, seen that WhatsApp is internally working on it, but when WhatsApp will add something more that will be possible to show, we will immediately publish all screenshots and information.
“We can already tell that seen that this feature requires a lot of development, it will be available for the next year, so don’t expect too much to see this feature in WhatsApp soon.”
WhatsApp is also rumored to be plotting a face-saving feature which lets you “unsend” messages after they’ve been sent.This feature would be amazing for anyone prone to sending drunken messages.
WABetaInfo claimed the unsend capability will be introduced in the app soon but didn’t say which version of the software.
This function is called “Delete for Everyone” and will allow you to destroy messages after they have been sent.
“WhatsApp is finally testing the Delete for Everyone feature: the server finally works and it successfully recalls the message,” it previously wrote.
Last week, WhatsApp unveiled a new feature titled ‘Live Location’, enabling users to share their location with friends and family in real time.
The new feature will be available under the ‘Location’ option in the ‘Attach’ tab. To use the feature, a user may open a chat with a person or group and access the same via the aforementioned path and tap on “Share Live Location.” Users can also set a timer for how long the location needs to be shared, thereby enabling all chosen recipients to see where the user is on a map in real time.