WhatsApp recently launched the much-awaited ‘Dark Mode’ feature for its users and now is reportedly working on a new feature that will delete messages automatically after a stipulated time as set by users.
In two Android beta versions – 2.20.83 as well as 2.20.84 – of the WhatsApp, the option to set self-destructing messages in private chats was found and one can choose the expiry period of the messages between one hour, one day, one week, one month or one year, WABetaInfo reported on Saturday. The feature is disabled by default, and can’t yet be accessed by users.
For those unaware, the self-destructing message is a feature that lets you choose how long you want to WhatsApp messages to last before they get deleted.
Once you set a time limit, an icon of a clock will appear right next to the sent time. You’ll also see a notification telling you that the messages will be deleted after the time limit you’ve set.
According to a recent report, the feature will be initially available for group chats only and can be enabled by the group’s administrators. Once enabled, the feature can be toggled in Contact Info or Group Settings.